Flash Back: Southern Ivy

Monica, the subject of many a shoot, was one of the original “models,” if you will, that I initially worked with. Besides convincing me to take the leap many moons ago and upgrade my antiquated camera (seriously, a solid hand-me-down from my grandfather,  it said “Made in the USSR” on the bottom, I kid you not). While my trustworthy all-manual, all-film camera got me through my photography classes at my alma mater Emory, it was high time to get acquainted with the wonderful world of film-free digital. While I know there’s a lot to be said for the control you have in the dark room over the development of film, a solitude I enjoyed immensely, the post-editing process in digital is just as much fun to me as taking the actual picture. Manipulating the live elements is just the first step in manipulating the raw image. Although these shots were taken a couple of years ago, it was one of my favorite shoots and it’s never received a dedicated post. Times are a’changin – some of my favorites from the shoot are below:

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

  • Life's a Popularity Contest

    • 9,458 nods
